top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureVictoria Deters

6 must-read books

Updated: Jan 15, 2020

My top 6 book recommendations for fiction-lovers.

Most teenagers have an unfair view of reading because of required reading for school, but with the right books, I believe that everyone can find something that they actually enjoy reading for fun.


The Beginning of Everything by Robyn Schneider

This novel was a little out of my reading comfort zone, and I really only read it because a friend wanted me to. To my surprise, it ended up becoming one of my favorite books and earning a spot on this list. As a coming-of-age novel about a boy who destroys his knee in a tragic car accident, I normally wouldn't give it a second look. However, the main character Ezra, captured my attention and kept me genuinely interested with his dark humor as he battled the challenge of never being able to play sports again because of his knee and how he re-identified himself.


Contagion by Erin Bowman

This sci-fi thriller is a true classic, in my opinion. It's not your normal zombie novel, but it includes elements of classic zombie thrillers that will leave you nervous to sleep with the lights out. Although it is told from the point of view of several characters, switching perspectives every chapter (an element that would normally repel my interest), the author manages to give the reader a clear viewpoint of the story.


One of us is Lying by Karen M. McManus

As another novel told from the point of view of multiple characters (6!!), I chose this book not expecting it to be one that stood out. Again, I was pleasantly surprised. At this point, I'm beginning to learn that the most interesting novels are the ones that I least expect to be. One of us is Lying follows the lives of six teenagers who are all suspects in a murder after they were the last ones to see a fellow student alive. With a twist that I never saw coming, McManus makes a complicated story easy to follow along with and love every chapter of the way.


The Cure for Dreaming by Cat Winters

Typically, I refuse to read historical-fiction, but I made an exception for this novel at the request of a friend. Olivia is a young suffragist growing up in Oregon in the year 1900. Her father is NOT approving of Olivia's beliefs and hires a hypnotist to "cure her of dreams of going to college and women's rights." Instead, the hypnotist takes pity on Olivia and grants her the ability to see people for who they truly are. With this paranormal twist, Winters subtly (but powerfully) portrays her empowering message in an entertaining way.


Complicit by Stephanie Kuehn

In this psychological thriller, Jamie has gotten used to his new life after his sister's imprisonment for burning down their neighbor's horse barn. "Crazy Cate" has been away for five years, but now she's back and there's something she wants Jamie to know about the whole ordeal. I didn't see this ending coming, and I doubt anyone else will either. This thriller will leave you feeling confused, frustrated, and ultimately unsatisfied, but in the very best way.


Ruthless by Carolyn Lee Adams

There's a good reason this book is titled "Ruthless", and it is because of the main character Ruth's desire to survive and defy the odds after she is kidnapped by a former employee of her father's. This man has already taken the lives of nine other girls, but Ruth refuses to join them. I wasn't able to put this novel down until the very end, no matter how frustrating it was. Adams also manages to weave in a very particular message about mankind and our selfishness through her depiction of characters Ruth encounters.


For more information on any of these novels, I recommend visiting Goodreads.

 

28 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page