top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureVictoria Deters

Coronavirus Reads

I have spent the last couple of weeks doing the same thing as everyone else: quarantining. Suddenly, I've had a lot more free time than I'm used to! This means that I've spent a lot of time reading, so this blog will cover more than one book. Welcome to my list of the top books I have read during the quarantine!


1. First We Were IV by Alexandra Sirowy

Honestly, this novel was a little creepy, but I really liked it. I was shocked by how the characters evolved throughout their experiences. If you like happy endings, I wouldn't recommend this book, but the ending was also very ironic, which I appreciated. It was especially interesting to see how the author created this cult-like group in a modern setting.


2. The Crown's Game by Evelyn Skye

This novel is actually the first in a short duology. The second book is called The Crown's Fate, and they were both really good! This duology is a fantasy, but it was different from other fantasy series because of the time and the setting. It took place in Russia during the 19th century and had several historical aspects to it. I really appreciated the originality that the author put into this series.


3. Pasadena by Sherri L. Smith

This murder mystery novel is a quick but interesting read. It takes place after the death of Maggie (which was ruled a suicide) and follows Maggie's best friend as she attempts to uncover the truth behind Maggie's death. I was definitely not expecting the ending and it was a little frustrating, but I did like the author's unique take on a murder mystery novel.


4. The Problem With Forever by Jennifer L. Armentrout

Armentrout is one of my favorite authors, so I'll read anything of hers without question. That's how I ended up reading The Problem With Forever. This novel was an absolute masterpiece, and Armentrout does an amazing job of portraying the effects of childhood abuse. She also accurately portrays mental illness and shows how people with the same experiences can be impacted in completely different ways. This novel was incredibly well written and very touching, which I don't say often.


5. Firstlife by Gena Showalter

This is the first novel in a trilogy; the following books are Lifeblood and Everlife. This series wasn't my favorite, and it wasn't very well written. However, it did have some interesting concepts on the afterlife and a unique take good vs. evil. I would recommend this series if you're looking for a light read that won't make you think very deeply.


For more information on any of these novels I recommend visiting Goodreads.

14 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page